jump to navigation

Surrogates: Make Your Own Surrogate September 1, 2009

Posted by Matt Brown in Transhumanism.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

So you’ve probably heard of the new Bruce Willis movie coming out soon, Surrogates.  In short, it’s set in the near future where everyone lives life as a surrogate, a physically perfected android controlled remotely by the person.  The movie looks pretty cool but that’s not why I’m posting.

On the Surrogates website they have a feature that allows you to construct your own surrogate.  Normally these movie marketing features are pretty poorly made but this is… well, pretty damn cool.  You start by uploading a photo of yourself, which the program then turns into a 3-d CG image.  This image is really good, like scary good.  You then have the option of altering your facial features including your hair, eye color, clothing, any tattoos or piercings and even change your race.  This part isn’t as robust as I would have liked but it still gives you the opportunity to personalize yourself.

Next you get to add some audio and this  is probably my favorite part.  The text to speech system is quite robust.  I started off just typing in basic things like “Hello” and “My name is Matt” but before long I was typing in “The Singularity is near.  Transcend your biology and live forever,” all of which the program faithfully rendered.  It even gives you the option of choosing an accent for yourself and while there does seem to be an overabundance of American accents it’s still a nice touch (I chose a British accent.)

What’s the point of all this you ask?  Well besides being a fun movie tie in, not much.  I was already planning of seeing Surrogates so this probably won’t change my mind on whether or not to see it.  It does get you thinking about the major theme of the movie, how in the future we will have complete control over our appearance, which according to the movie will result in a world of supermodels which I’m not sure I agree with.

Personally if I could control how I look I’d rather look like this…

then like this.

But that’s just me.

P.S. For those of you who don’t know, the guy in the top picture is Zeratul and he is awesome.

Comments»

1. cio - September 4, 2009

can’t find any Surrogates website with the features you tell. Could you please give it.
Thanks

Matt Brown - September 4, 2009

Sorry about that. Here’s the site. Just click the Choose Your Surrogate option.

http://www.chooseyoursurrogate.com/


Leave a Reply

