jump to navigation

My first yoga class March 2, 2008

Posted by Matt Brown in Fitness.
trackback

Well it took me long enough, but I finally managed to drag myself to a yoga class. It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for awhile, mainly because I have no flexibility and apparently its pretty good for that. So I’m running a little late and I show up just as the class is getting started. The second I walk in the instructor asks “Has anyone not taken yoga?” I was the only one to raise my hand. Good start so far.

The instructor, who I’m sure is a very nice person, was almost a parody of herself. Her voice reminded me of hypnotists that I’ve seen before, so smooth that you want to roll over and take a nap just listening to it (which I almost did, those mats are pretty comfortable) and she started class by saying “For the next hour, let me be your guide through the world of yoga.” It was like a bad SNL skit, but whatever.

Now I knew that yoga wasn’t a walk in the park, but I was surprised at just how hard it was at times. Not the flexibility stuff, I knew I was gonna suck at that. It was the strength bits that killed me. Well, not so much strength I suppose as muscular endurance. As anyone who has taken a class before knows, the postures in yoga force you to contort yourself into some rather strange positions then hold those positions for what seems like forever. I’m a pretty strong guy, but my muscles were burning by the time the instructor let us rest.

All that being said it was a great class and I fully intend to go back for more. Coming out of the class I felt loose and energized and after only one hour of practice I already felt more flexible. I would definitely recommend that everyone give yoga a try.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

